The Leadership Team

Where the Excellence Begins

Serving the community for more than 25 years.

Colorado Mathematics Awards is a collaborative project with the following organizations and their members:

American Mathematics Competitions – MAA

Colorado Council of Teachers of Mathematics

Colorado Department of Education

Colorado Math Circle


Rocky Mountain Section – MAA

CMA Steering Committee Members

David Carlson, PhD

Colorado CMA Co-Founder and Co-Chair

Policy Analyst, Colorado Dept. of Agriculture (retired)

Founder, Ethics and Ecological Economics (EEE) Forum


Sheila Davis, MD MS

Health Chair

Rocky Mountain NAACP State Conference


Joanie Funderburk

Strategic Alliance Director at Texas Instruments

Past President, Colorado Council of Teachers of Mathematics


Paul Gulman, PE, NSPE

National Society of Professional Engineers of Colorado


Wheat Ridge

Mike Jacobson, PhD

Dept. of Mathematics and Statistical Sciences

University of Colorado Denver

Past Chair, Rocky Mtn. Section—MAA

Raymond Johnson, PhD

Mathematics Content Specialist

Colorado Dept. of Education


Sally Lambert

Lambert Engraving

Math Club founder and coach

Steamboat Springs 

Rhonda Naylor

Campus Middle School, Denver (retired)

Past President, Colorado Council of Teachers of Mathematics


Rocke Verser

Independent Software Engineer

CMA photographer


CMA Advisors

Dr. Timothy (“T.J.”) Tsai

Associate Professor of Engineering

Harvey Mudd College

Claremont, CA

CMA student honoree, 1997-2002

Pius Kamau, MD

General surgeon (retired)

President, Africa America Higher Education

  Partnerships (AAHEP)

Co-founder, Africa Enterprise Group


CMA Webmaster

Michael Zhang

Student, Cherry Creek High School

TEDx Speaker

TEDx Organizer, TEDxCherryCreekHS

Co-founder, Equity Learning


In Memorium

Richard (“Dick”) Gibbs

CMA Co-Founder and Co-Chair (1996-2023)

Professor Emeritus

Dept. of Mathematics

Ft. Lewis College

Past Chair, American Mathematics Competitions